This past weekend, I was on a King Diamond kick and felt that today was a good day for a King post. The year 1986 and the first solo album by former Mercyful Fate singer King Diamond called Fatal Portrait.

The album lineup which includes: King Diamond – lead vocals, Andy LaRocque and Michael Denner – lead guitars, Timi Hansen – bass and Mikkey Dee – drums was one of the only King Diamond albums that is not a full concept album. Five songs on this album (the first four tracks and Haunted) form a short story. The narrator continues to see a face in every candle that he burns.  The face speaks one word to him: Jonah. The narrator then finds an old book, speaks a rhyme and as the candle melts away, it frees the spirit of the candle, a little girl named Molly. Molly shares her story of what happened to her seven years before of how Mrs. Jane kept her  in the attic until she (Molly) died. Prior Mrs. Jane had also painted Molly’s portrait and put it above the fireplace, so that Molly would become immortal however, Molly made the portrait speak to her mother, so that Mrs. Jane would know about Molly’s pain. Mrs. Jane then speaks a rhyme and burns the portrait. Molly now a free spirit  returns to haunt her until she goes insane.

This is the only King Diamond album where longtime guitarist Andy LaRocque did not receive writing credits. The track listing for Fatal Portrait is as follows:

1) The Candle
2) The Jonah
3) The Portrait
4) Dressed in White
5) Charon
6) Lurking in the Dark
7) Halloween
8) Voices from the Past (Instrumental)
9) Haunted

The re-release includes No Presents For Christmas and The Lake.

For more on King Diamond, visit his official website here or via Facebook or via Twitter







Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?