Supporting underground metal since 2006

Flotsam And Jetsam: “The End Of Chaos” Album Review


Flotsam And Jetsam: “The End Of Chaos” Album Review

I am always honored to do a review of a band that have stood the test of time.

Thirty-plus years is beyond a lifetime for musicians, and Flotsam and Jetsam have not let up on their potency or energy on their latest release, The End of Chaos. It is by no means the finality of their career. The Phoenix-based metal monsters – led by original members vocalist A.K. and guitarist Michael Gilbert along with bassist Michael Spencer, guitarist Steve Conley and drummer Ken Mary – deliver fury and might like never before.

With “Prisoner of time,” you are immediately drawn in from the start into a maelstrom of riffs and A.K.’s vocals are in beautiful form. It is a song about living without regret and not getting imprisoned by the cogs of this world. You are then dropped in the midst of “Control” where you hear more anger and yearning with its breakneck speed and a definitive message to control your own destiny. When I listen to “Slowly Insane,” I am taken by the nuances of his vocals and hear the pain behind the song which I interpret as the misery that stress and anxiety induces within you. “Demolition Man” has an accompanying video, and what I got from it is how people can encroach and profit off a gift you have if you allow them to.

The End of Chaos is full of meaning and caustic, riff-driven energy. Flotsam and Jetsam have no intention of letting up.

The End of Chaos is out January 18 on AFM Records. Buy it here!

Flotsam and Jetsam - The End of Chaos - Cover

Ally's Rating
  • Musicianship
  • Lyrics
  • Heaviness
  • Overall Impression